2024 Outdoor Adventure Camps:

Your partner in risk management, resource conservation and stewardship

Board of Directors

Home > Board of Directors

There are eleven municipalities in MVCA’s jurisdiction and each is entitled to appoint at least one member to the Board of Directors.  The number of municipal appointees to the Board is based upon the population of the municipality within the watershed.  Municipalities may appoint elected and unelected members to the Board.

In addition, the province has appointed an independent Agricultural Representative to the Board.  There are 18 Board Members in total, as set out below.

Executive Committee

The mandate of this committee is to:

  • Review and provide guidance regarding agenda.
  • Annual work planning and performance review of the General Manager. 
  • May approve the tender and award of WECI-funded contracts falling within budgets approved by the Board.
  • While in a state of Emergency Operations, may also carryout items B) 1. c) ii, iv, vi, and xv on behalf of the Board.  

Current members are the following:

  • Board Chair, Paul Kehoe
  • Board Vice Chair, Jeff Atkinson
  • Chair of the Finance & Administration Committee, Janet Mason
  • Chair of the Policy & Planning, Bev Holmes

Addington Highlands, Township ofHelen Yanch, Councillorhyanch@addingtonhighlands.ca
Beckwith TownshipRichard Kidd, ReeveRkidd@twp.beckwith.on.ca
Carleton Place, Town ofJeff Atkinson, Councillorjatkinson@carletonplace.ca
Carleton Place, Town ofDena Comley, Councillordcomley@carletonplace.ca
Central Frontenac, Township ofCindy Kelsey, Councillorckelsey@centralfrontenac.com
Drummond/North Elmsley, Township ofPaul Kehoe, Councillorpauljdar@gmail.com
Greater Madawaska, Township ofTaylor Popkie, Councillortpopkie@greatermadawaska.com
Lanark Highlands, Township ofAllison Vereyken, Councillorvereykenward3@outlook.com
Mississippi Mills, Municipality ofBev Holmes, Councillorbholmes@mississippimills.ca
Mississippi Mills, Municipality ofMary Lou Souter, Councillormsouter@mississippimills.ca
North Frontenac, Township ofRoy Huetl, Councillorroyfhuetl@gmail.com
Ottawa, City ofGlen Gower, Councillorglen.gower@ottawa.ca
Ottawa, City ofCathy Curry, Councillorcathy.curry@ottawa.ca
Ottawa, City ofClarke Kelly, Councillorclarke.kelly@ottawa.ca
Ottawa, City ofAllan Hubley, Councillorallan.hubley@ottawa.ca
Ottawa, City ofJanet Mason, citizen app.masonjl@xplornet.com
Tay Valley TownshipAndrew Kendrick, Councillorakendrick.councillor@tayvalleytwp.ca
Provincial Agricultural RepresentativeSteven Lewislewisfarms@storm.ca

Finance & Administration (F&A)

The mandate of this committee is to consider and make recommendations to the Board regarding:

  • Annual budget, audit, and financial statements
  • Borrowing and reserve fund management
  • Wages, benefits, per diems, honorariums, and mileage rates
  • Fee setting and other cost recovery
  • Personnel matters
  • Organizational structure
  • Employee Manual policies
  • H&S Manual policies
  • Procurement policies

Current members are the following:

  • Janet Mason, Chair
  • Roy Huetl, Vice Chair
  • Richard Kidd
  • Jeff Atkinson
  • Paul Kehoe
  • Allison Vereyken
  • Mary Lou Souter
  • Cathy Curry
  • Andrew Kendrick
  • Allan Hubley

Policy & Planning (P&P)

The mandate of this committee is to consider and make recommendations to the Board regarding:

  • Conservation Authority legislative and regulatory matters, and policies and plans thereunder that are not financial in nature.  This includes resource management, conservation and other matters falling under Sections 20 and 21 of the Act.
  • All Administrative By-law matters and policies and plans thereunder that are not addressed by the F&A Advisory Committee.

Current members are the following:

  • Bev Holmes, Chair
  • Dena Comley, Vice Chair
  • Cindy Kelsey
  • Taylor Popkie
  • E. Helen Yanch
  • Clarke Kelly
  • Glen Gower
  • Steven Lewis


This Committee is an Administrative Tribunal within the definitions of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act.  Section 28(3) of the Conservation Authorities Act allows for a hearing before this Committee before an application is refused.  It is the purpose of the Regulations Committee to evaluate the information presented at the hearing by both Conservation Authority staff and the applicant and to decide whether the application will be approved or refused.

Current members are the following:

  • Paul Kehoe, ex-officio
  • Jeff Atkinson, ex-officio
  • Janet Mason
  • Richard Kidd
  • Andrew Kendrick


MVCA has two citizen advisory committees:

  • Mississippi River Watershed Plan Public Advisory Committee (PAC); and
  • Mill of Kintail Museum Advisory Committee (MAC)

Mississippi River Watershed Plan PAC

The role of the PAC is to:      

  • help gauge community interest in specific actions;
  • provide input to the annual prioritization of actions;
  • disseminate and collect information within their target sectors and communities to support project design and delivery;
  • support community uptake and project implementation by engaging with member municipalities and community partners; and
  • provide constructive feedback regarding implementation successes and challenges.

Current PAC members are the following:

  • Katie Surra, Co-chair
  • Dena Comley, Board Co-chair
  • Doreen Donald
  • Ed Giffin
  • Ken Grant
  • Gord Harrison
  • Terry MacHardy
  • John Karau

Mill of Kintail Museum Advisory Committee

The purpose of the museum advisory committee is to advise the Authority on the protection, promotion and presentation of the Dr. R. Tait McKenzie Collection and James Naismith Collection, and help to facilitate the development of the Mill of Kintail site and programming.

Current MAC members are the following:

  • Bev Holmes, Board member liaison and Co-chair
  • Darcy Moses, Board Co-chair
  • Wendy Bridges
  • Lucy Carleton
  • Diana Jackson
  • Sara Chatfield
  • Kathy McNenly
  • Wayne Morrison
  • Sarah More

Scheduled Meetings


Watershed Tour

June 10, 2024

Board of Directors Meeting

July 8, 2024

Board of Directors Meeting

September 9, 2024

Board of Directors Meeting

October 21, 2024

Board of Directors Meeting & Christmas Luncheon

December 9, 2024

Agendas & Minutes

Click here to view Agendas, Reports, and Minutes from past meetings.


Finance & Administration
Policy & Planning


Requests to present to the Board or a Standing Committee are to be received a minimum of 10 days prior to the meeting.  Delegations are provided up to 10 minutes to speak.  Send your request to present to info@mvc.on.ca RE: Request for Delegation ATTN: General Manager.